пятница, 6 марта 2009 г.

Russian chick flicks?

so my friends, today starts the crazy intense celebration of national women's day in Russia. My lord it is intense. Everywhere i went today about 90% of the women around me were carrying a bouquet of flowers or multiple bouquets of flowers. i was not in the overwhelming majority today. Although despite my envy I could still appreciate the beauty of this holiday. Zach was so cute today---he gave LP a large bouquet of flowers and she was overwhelmed. It was funny watching it because he had that "oh yea im so glad you like it this isnt awkward at all oh ok let's hug" face on. priceless.

AND FINALLY the office was, indeed, a student lounge today. banjo playing included. way too many people in way to small of a space. fun though.

tonight me sarah katie and grace went down to nevsky to see a movie. Katie Grace and I got there early at about 7ish for a 830 movie because we wanted to buy good seats (after the horrible 1st row experience) and also because we wanted to walk around Nevsky a bit. So Grace wanted to get a relatively inexpensive diet coke (aka NOT the ones the street vendors sell) and i kind of know my way around the m. Mayakovskaya area so i revisited my first ever homestay in russia. I actually passed by the door i used to go through everyday. I wanted to go to the infamous 24 hour часа that we all so dearly loved over the summer. It was great--it still had the mini ice cream parlor type thing in it and it had tons of variety--unlike the grocery stores out by primorskaya. It made me really miss living on the main island and it made me realize what a freakin awesome location I had been in. I kinda wish i was still living there to be honest. so we got dc's and then we still had about 40 minutes to kill so we walked back to nevsky. I got to take the short cut that i remembered that brings you right out across the street from the movie theater. i felt so cool (not really). oh and we saw blood and a tissue on the ground while on the shortcut (awesome). so THEN to continue our tour of grocery stores I decided to show them the most amazing grocery store in st. petersburg. no im not talking about lenta. im talking about the one thats in the mall on Vladimirskaya ulitsa. Its like the best place ever. I would like to hang out in there. for real. im thinking about going back there tomorrow. partially because there were a ton of really awesome shoestores on the way. and i want to buy boots. and they are all on skidka. saweeeet.

oh and we ran into e.b. louis and lauren on the way back from the grocery store. that was fun.

so the movie. wow. what can i say about that piece of cinematic brilliance. well the plot began with a group of three guys--one of which was married--and they were all sleeping around and being manwhores and then one day all of a sudden they couldn't get it up. therefore they had to find love in order to get their manly parts to work. oh russian chick flicks. americans can definitely learn from you. in between their were great hilarious parts (man watching sexy tv eating donuts and crying because over his limp manly bits) and sweet romantic parts and crazy ridiculous russian parts (police chasing a tour bus that ran a red light and then needing to go to the supreme court?). nuff said.

oh and the entire thing took place in NYC. weird.


till next time

Love,
-D

Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий